Givenchy Le Makeup Lipsticks

French luxury makeup Givenchy’s Le Makeup Line is any makeup enthusiast’s dream. From gorgeous lipsticks to long-lasting lipglosses and mascaras, it features some of the latest makeup innovations. The collection has a variety of lipsticks from satin finishes to matte ones. I was lucky to be able to try a few lipsticks from the collection and in all honesty I think I may have found some of my new holy grail lipsticks.

First up, we have the Rouge Interdit Satin Lipstick Irresistible Color in 20 Illicit Rasperry and 23 Fantasy Pink. Illicit Rasperry is a rich red with a gorgeous satin finish, it’s extremely shiny and feels great on the lips, very hydrating. I especially think it’s a great colour for the holiday season, I’m definitely going to rock it this christmas!

Fantasy Pink on the other hand is a bright candy floss colour pink, it’s a really great shade of pink. Reminds me of Barbie. It gives off a very youthful vibe, perfect to brighten any look. It needs to be worn with a lipliner to get the most out of it. I find that it can be patchy without one.

[Swatches at the very end of post]

703461_1065582803486627_2004552549_o
Top: Givenchy Rouge Interdit in 20 Illicit Raspberry, Bottom: 23 Fantasy Pink

The lipsticks come in a classic black box with the Givenchy logo in pink. The bullet and outershell I found to be extremely interesting and fashionable. The case is rectangular in shape and the bullet has the Givenchy logo carved all over. It is also has a little hook attached to the bullet where I guess you could attached it to a key or hang it somewhere (Christmas decorations anyone?). All jokes aside, I think it’s to facilitate getting the lipstick out of the case but I think it also adds to the luxurious factor.

12366022_1065565386821702_8782617306601189422_o

Another lipstick I was able to try is Le Rouge in 304 Mandarine Boléro. Unlike the other two, this one has a semi-matte finish and the packaging is much different too. Even more luxurious I would say, the lipstick comes enclosed in a sleek GENUINE leather, case with the Givenchy logo inscribed on it. Even the box it came in was made to mimic the leathery feel of the case.The lipstick is very pigmented and the colour Mandarine Boléro is a stunning orange-red, great for those who are looking to broaden their lipstick shades and willing to try something fun. The lipstick formula was also really smooth for a matte lipstick. Personally, I felt that it was more of a semi matte finish than matte due to its intense hydrating property. I think it’s a great lipstick, I wish it was slightly more matte but as I mentioned before it would be hard to make it smooth like this one if it was. Other than that, it’s definitely worth a buy if you’re looking for a gorgeous and fun orange-red lipstick.

12422470_1065580706820170_79937202_o
Givenchy Le Rouge in 304 Mandarine Boléro

The Rouge à Porter Whipped lipstick is another great lipstick I got to try. I tried it in the shade 205 Violine Inspiration. The packaging of the lipstick is very similar to Le Rouge, this one is encased in leather as well but is more slim and sleek. I’ve never tried a whipped lipstick so this was definitely something new to me. The formula was a lot like the Rouge Interdit Satin Lipsticks but less pigmented I would say. It felt more like a lip balm with a tint rather than a lipstick as it was more sheer. Though that might also be due to me having pigmented lips and the shade being fairly light (a light mauve-y shade). Would I try this again? Yes, I think it’s a great sheer lipstick for an “au naturel” look.

12398662_1065577370153837_1910573514_o
Givenchy Rouge à Porter in Violine Inspiration

The swatches shown in natural light.

12413835_1065580540153520_795301930_o
Left to right: 304 Mandarine Boléro, 205 Violine Inspiration, 20 Illicit Raspberry and 23 Fantasy Pink

Swatches in artificial lighting.

12414305_1065577610153813_535541842_o
Left to Right: 304 Mandarine Bolero, 205 Violine Inspiration, 20 Illicit Raspberry, and 23 Fantasy Pink

Overall, I was more than happy with Givenchy’s Le Makeup Lipstick, prior to this I had only tried their lash booster but I was definitely amazed by the quality of their lipsticks. Yes, they are on the pricier side (Rouge Interdit at $36 CAD, Rouge a Porter and Le Rouge at $40 CAD at Sephora Canada) but these are quality makeup that are made in France and they are long lasting as well! The fact that they all smell heavenly ( I swear it’s like wearing a perfume on your lips) is a definite bonus as well!

Will you be trying Givenchy?

*This post features item(s) received as PR samples or for reviewing purposes but the opinions and thoughts reflected are mine and solely mine.

**This post has been updated for clarity and details were added.

Leave a Reply

