Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Crème Lipstick

Marc Jacobs Beauty has fairly recently changed its Le Marc Lipstick Collection by replacing their Lip Gels with the Lip Crème. Unlike the Lip Gels which had a sheer formula, the Lip Crèmes are described as rich, long-lasting and creamy. I haven’t tried the Lip Gels before but with my pigmented lips, sheer lippies don’t quite work so I’m personally happy about the change.

I’ve been dying to try the Marc Jacobs lippies ever since I saw them but unfortunately expensive taste comes with matching prices, the Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Crèmes retail for a whooping CAD $38 at Sephora Canada. But someone out there really wanted me to have them, as I won two of them as part of a contest and was a very happy girl. The ones I got are two of the newer shades from the collection, Editrix and Slow Burn, and since they are new I figured I’d do a small review on them.

image

The lipsticks come encased in a classy black and white box embossed with the Marc Jacobs logo and the bullet itself is screams luxury with its magnetic clasp that clicks shut. I personally love the packaging, it’s so chic.

image
The boxes kept sticking to each other due to the magnets inside the bullet

Let’s move on to the lipsticks themselves. Editrix is described as a deep oxblood on Sephora Canada and it really is deep. I expected a dark burgundy/maroon colour and was surprised to find that it is brown (swatches at the end). I would have preferred it to have a bit more red but brown is all the rage at the moment so I’ll give it a try. I’m more likely to be wearing it during the fall than right now. I personally prefer brighter colours for summer. As for the formula, it is very moisturizing  and very pigmented. It’s the perfect lippie for an edgy look.

image
Editrix 250 and Slow Burn 246

The other colour I got is Slow Burn. It’s described as a creamy nude rose and it’s exactly that. It’s very pigmented and despite having dark lips, offered full coverage without the need for a lip liner. With my skin tone, I usually find it hard to find the right nude shade and I was very happy with this colour, it’s the perfect nude for me. It’s now my go to lipstick for a casual natural look.

image
Editrix (left ), Slow Burn (right).

Overall, I’m really happy  with the Lip Crème. Their formula is superb and does live up to its description of being long-lasting! I went out for lunch and wore Slow burn, even after having lunch, I was pleasantly surprised to notice that I still had some lipstick on.

Have any of you tried the Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Crème? What did you think? Let me know below.

Leave a Reply

