Tips for healthy and glowing skin

Back when I was in high school, my friends would always say your skin is flawless, even my guy friends would accuse me of wearing foundation which heck I didn’t even own until my last year of high school. While I didn’t think my skin was flawless as I would get occasional blemishes from picking at pimples (I know awful awful thing to do), my skin was still much healthier in comparison to many. The reason as to why? Well genetics play a huge and important role in the way your skin is but there are many other factors as well. So I thought I’d share a quick list of tips that I use to take care of my skin.

Tip #1: Don’t wash your face too much.

You’re probably thinking what is this girl thinking..but overwashing your face actually results in dry skin so don’t do it!
I only use a cleanser at night and only if I’m wearing makeup. Otherwise, just water and soap it is. Cleansers tend to have many chemicals which with too much use can be harsh for your skin. Also, if you’re cleansing before going to bed, then there is no point in cleansing again in the morning.

My current favourite and go to cleanser is the 4 in 1 Philosophy Purity cleanser. It’s seriously a holy grail cleanser, so light, refreshing and smells great as well!

image

Tip# 2: Get to know your skin.

To do that I tend to try new things and see which one works the best. Unless I really absolutely love it, I will switch my routine a little to see what’s working and what’s not. I love trying new things, it’s a lot of fun but make sure to be careful when trying a new product, especially if you have sensitive skin. Always do a test patch on your arm first.

Some products I’m dying to try include the Elizavecca Milky Piggy Carbonated Mask, Korres Wild Rose face oil with Vitamin C, and those super cool gel patches.

image

Tip#3: Use a targeted product depending on what your concerns are such as a serum or even an essential oil.

My biggest concerns are blemishes/uneven skintone/dark spots. I have used Clinique’s Dark Spot corrector and I’m currently using Shiseido’s White Lucent Luminizing Surge to help with that. I prefer the Shiseido serum because it is lighter and works faster for me. Both products need to be used diligently to see results and results will differ from person to person, everyone’s skin is different.

image

Tip #4: Use sunscreen. Lots and lots of sunscreen.

I can’t stress the importance of sunscreen, not only does it keep you safe from uv rays but it also keeps you looking younger and more refreshed. It’s one of if not the most important skincare product you can use and invest in.

I like to use Vichy’s for my face and Banana Boat’s sunscreen for my body.

image

Tip#5: Masks, masks, masks.

I absolutely love masks, they are relaxing, there are so many cool and different kinds plus they are fairly affordable! They address different concerns too and are usually rejuvenating as well so it’s win-win-win!

Some of my favourite masks include the Mon Platin Dead Sea Masks (Mud or Peel, both are superb), Sephora’s Green Tea Mask, and several kbeauty masks!

image

Tip#6: Make sure you know what you’re putting on your face.

What exactly do I mean by that? Buy products with reputable brands. But even then, don’t just buy something based on a youtube video or a blogpost, research the product first. Even some reputable brands have sketchy sources or are sometimes manufactured in third world countries so it really makes one wonder how much quality control there is. Everytime I buy a new product, I have a habit of checking in what country it is made. I tend to gravitate towards products made in countries with strict quality and ingredient control such as France but that’s more of a personal preference than anything.

Tip#7: Let your skin breathe.

Try wearing minimal makeup or going makeup less for a a couple of days, just to allow your face to breathe a little. Trust me your skin will thank you for letting it rest. I personally love the feeling of having a bare face and find that it is absolutely refreshing to go bare.

Tip#8: Be confident in your own skin.

We all have days where we breakout or have super dry skin, it happens. The best thing to do is to not stress over it
Stress causes pre-mature aging and wrinkles!

That’s all for my tips for having healthy skin. I will keep updating the list as I learn more and try new things.

One thought on “Tips for healthy and glowing skin

Leave a Reply

