Shiseido Rouge Rouge Lipstick in RD503 Bloodstone

Japanese brand Shiseido is one of the ultimate beauty brands. I recently discovered Shiseido through my favourite beauty editor Dave Lackie. It is one of his favourite brands and I can totally understand why. It is such an innovative brand and their latest campaign really showcases that.

Their Rouge Rouge campaign is aimed at finding a red for everyone out there and there are a whole 16 of them! Unlike other reds, these ones are all red tones thus the rouge rouge portion.

As an avid fan of asian beauty, I was super excited when I finally got one of their lipstick in the #CitylineBeauty giftbag. The one I got is RD503 Bloodstone. I was totally impressed with it that I thought I needed to write a review.

The lipstick itself is a rich deep red colour with very fine shimmer. It reminded me a little of the colour a geisha would wear. Despite not being the greatest fan of shimmer in my lipstick, this one worked well and wasn’t so overwhelming. It was a very subtle shimmery effect, it blended right up in the lipstick.

The formula is super creamy and not as glossy as some other lipsticks, which I liked because I prefer my formulas on the matte side. The lipstick contains hyaluronic acid which makes it super hydrating as well as plumps your lips.

Another reason why I’m loving this product is their packaging. The lipstick is in a chic magnetic bullet, which I find is always fun to have. And in a sleek red box (super photogenic box I would say). The bullet has the shiseido logo and name enscribed on it and the actual lipstick has Shiseido engraved in it.

Here are some swatches of the lipstick:

Swatch in natural light
Swatch in artificial light (with flash)

It is so richly pigmented that it does in fact offer full coverage for my dark lips (sorry no pics) without compromising the colour.

Overall, I was super impressed with Shiseido’s newest lipstick. It was my first but definitely not my last. I can’t wait to get more of them, especially their very bright red shades 😍

Do you have a Shiseido lipstick or Shiseido products? What do you think of them?

9 thoughts on “Shiseido Rouge Rouge Lipstick in RD503 Bloodstone

Leave a Reply

