Givenchy’s New Rouge Interdit Satin Lipstick and Lip Liner

Givenchy has recently relaunched their Rouge Interdit lipsticks with a new packaging and formulation as well and it is one word: fantastic. I received their it shade, 13 Rouge Interdit. A gorgeous and bright true red that’s universally flattering.

First of all, what is different from the old Rouge Interdit (see review of the original Rouge Interdit lipstick here)? The answer is haute couture inspire packaging and a superb new formulation!

The new packaging is inspired by Givenchy’s Haute Couture collection and it feels very luxe. It now features a shiny sleek ribbon design which enhances the black casing. I found it to be quite chic and very classy for Givenchy. I do like the revamped packaging, though Givenchy always did have a very luxurious bullet so to me it was just a tiny upgrade.

It also features  a new and I would say much superior formula, some key new ingredients include an “Absolute color complex” for longer lasting colour, black rose oil for moisture and extra fine oils for a light and comforting feel.

I found that the lipstick holds true to these new ingredients. It was quite hard to get it off, even with a good makeup remover. It lasted me a good 12+ hours and it felt practically non-existent on my lips. The formula is lightweight and comfortable. The pigmentation is quite nice as well, the shade I received is very bright and very bold. Though, I would recommend wearing a lipliner of a similar shade underneath to truly showcase the rich red colour if you have pigmented lips like me.

Rouge Interdit Shade 13

As part of the collection, there’s 20 revamped shades including a new limited edition Marbled shade. Each retailing for $40 CAD. Steep price but worth every penny for it’s comfortable and long lasting formula.

I also received one of the new lipliners, in 11 Universel Transparent (CAD $35).  Packaging wise, it is a standard pencil liner with a cute sharperner. Nothing too fancy.

It was my first time trying a Givenchy lip liner and I found that it works well to keep bright lipsticks from bleeding and keeping my lipstick on even longer. My only qualm was that the formula is a tad bit soft, the tip broke right off while I was using it and I had to resharpen it.

Overall, I’m loving the revamped Rouge Interdit lipstick and cannot wait to buy some different colours. The limited edition is especially intriguing. As for the lip liner, I’m on the fence about it, I would need to try one of the coloured ones and see.

For those interested, Givenchy products are available on sephora.ca.

P.S. Check out my Instagram for info on how to win the LE Rouge Interdit Marbled lipstick!

*This post features item(s) received as PR samples or for reviewing purposes but the opinions and thoughts reflected are mine and solely mine.


2 thoughts on “Givenchy’s New Rouge Interdit Satin Lipstick and Lip Liner

Leave a Reply

